Chosen

Growing up in elementary school,  my favorite class used to be PE. I loved going to PE because thats where I could hang out with my girls but most important, I got to play my favorite game of all time kickball. I remembered my first time playing this game at my new school as if it was yesterday. I was in fifth grade at the time and our teacher brought us out to our PE teacher. He asked for two students and he randomly selected two students and they happened to be the two popular kids in the class. You guys remember that whole team selection process. It was just me and this another boy who were left. I was fairly new to the school and nobody knew me. The two team captains were arguing among themselves about who they wanted on their team. I overheard the boy saying, I don’t want the fat girl.

Why is that we have this misconception that chunky people can’t run but thats another topic for another day. Back to the story, so I joined my other teammates and I waited for my turn as the the ball rolled to me, I kicked as hard as I could. The ball went flying and I ran to first base, then  second base, dusted past third  and merrily skipped to home because I knew nobody was going catch that ball. Lets just say that those kids learned a lesson never judge a book but its cover. Cliché, I know but its true. The thing I remembered most was hearing the boy who hadn’t  chosen me say “Man, I should have chose her!”

How many of us remember a time where we weren’t chosen  for something whether it be a job, relationship,  position or to be part of organizations. In our mind we felt that we were right for the position. I have find that way so many times and I use to question myself and sometimes doubt myself of not being worthy. Until recently during my quiet time with Lord where he opened my eyes to this verse James 1:18 NLT “He chose to give birth to us by giving us his true word. And we, out of all creation, became his prized possession.”

Now what stuck out to me that God had chose me. Even with my faults God still wants me. Guess what…He wants you too. The fact is that He sees us as His prized possession that He sent His only son Jesus to die on the cross for our sins. He did this so that He could have relationship with His children.  So with this in mind, the next time you are rejected just remember that God will never reject you because He chose you. He loves you and you are His prized possession thats all that matters.

Leave a Reply

