Faith Endurance

What Up Peeps!!!

I hope you are doing fabulous on this amazing Wednesday!  Yesterday, my pastor gave a word that was meant for me and God allowed it to roll into today during my quiet time. I  thought I’d share it with you. So the titleof my pastor sermon was ‘Rent to Own’ and the overall topic of his sermon was that in order to get to where God is calling you to be, you need to move into a new season.

Don’t get comfortable in a renter mentality that you never walk into that season of ownership. He used the example of the Israelites who were only supposed to be in the wilderness for a couple days but they ended up in the wilderness for 40 yrs. This was because of their lack of faith. You see the Israelites had enough faith to get them out Egypt but they didn’t have enough faith to get them to the land that God promised them.

For so long I had an Israelite mentality where i believe God for some things but not in everything. I would be like God I trusted you in the area of my finances but when I  keep getting calls from debt collectors then I begin to worry then I began to think to myself that oh maybe God won’t come through this time. How many of you can relate to feeling like this?  However, God checked me this morning during our quiet time when the verses of
James 1:2-4  where it reads, ” 2 Dear brothers and sisters,[a] when troubles of any kind come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy. 3 For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. 4  So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be perfect and complete, needing nothing.

As I read this to myself this morning, why would I  consider going through obstacles as great joy. Why should this make me joyful as I type this I realize the reason behind it because when you go  into battle with an positive attitude then it will be easier to overcome that trial.   We know that we don’t relay on our own strength but the strength of the Lord. This mere fact should bring joy to our heart and encourage us to stand firm in faith.

Which leads us to verses 3 &4 which speaks to the altitude that when our faith is tested then our faith endurance has a chance to grow and as our faith matures we began to lack for nothing  because we now have a solid foundation in Christ that our faith will not waver no matter the obstacles.  We have learned that God will bring us through the storm the way He chooses because He knows whats best for us and what we need. He knows what we can handle and what we can’t.

So the next time you are facing a challenge or you find yourself in an obstacle remember to count it all joy then remind firm in your faith because God will bring you through and remember what He promised because you don’t want to be like the Israelites who wondered through the wilderness for their lack of faith.

Leave a Reply

