Power of Words

Words have great influence in our lives. They can alter our moods and feelings. They can dictate who we are and what we become. Words come in different forms. They can be negative or positive.  Words can heal and yet they can hurt and sometimes even destroy.  However, words can only do those things as described above and more if we allow them to.  We as individuals are the ones that give words their power.  How do we do that? It is simple. We believe it! If someone tells you something about yourself whether it is negative or positive; we internalize it causing a seed to be planted. Now every time we hear those same words or similar words being spoken to us. It nourishes that seed and before long we have a full grown plant in us because we gave power to those words spoken to us. For example, my parents use to tell me that I was a smart girl. My parents didn’t know they had just planted a seed in me.  So now when my teachers started calling me a smart girl; it nourished that seed that was planted in me because I believe what was being said about me.  Now if someone came to me and told me that I was dumb I wouldn’t believe them because of the seed that was planted. Many of us have plants within us that we don’t know about or forgot about them and some of them are causing havoc in your life and relationships. We as individuals need to be careful of what word seeds we allow to be planted in our life and in the lives of others.  Proverbs 18:20-21, “Words satisfy the mind as much as fruit does the stomach; good talk is as gratifying as a good harvest.  Words kill, words give life; they’re either poison or fruit—you choose.” So if you are surrounded by people who are planting the wrong seeds in your life then you need to remove them because they will cause deprivation. Believe me, I can speak from experience because I was living a life where I was believed the wrong things about myself. Until God sent people in my life who planted different seeds and God flourished those seeds with His words. I began to believe God told me and promise me. Also, we need to be mindful of the seeds that we sow in the lives of others because we can say some really harsh things because of raw state of emotions. Think about those words before you speak them out loud. I concluded with this my friend allow God to show you and remove those words weeds in your life  flourish in the way that He called you to, and to help those around you flourish as well.  Yehuda Berg  states, “ Words are singularly the most powerful force available to humanity. We can choose to use this force constructively with words of encouragement, or destructively using words of despair. Words have energy and power with the ability to help, to heal, to hinder, to hurt, to harm, to humiliate and to humble.”

Laterz XOXO

Kat

Leave a Reply

